John Stezaker

I recently went with an old friend of mine to an exhibition by John Stezaker at the Whitechapel gallery.

This is just a small collection of some of the prints in the exhibition
My favorites were tiny, very tightly cropped images of human figures, perhaps on the end or somewhere in the distance of an original photograph. Seemingly having been ignored until now, Stezaker has brought them to the attention of the viewer. These were titled, The 3rd person Archive 1976-present, image fragments.
They are so tiny and delicate and beautiful. There aren’t many good representations of them online, go and take a look at the real thing if you can.
There is so much work in the space whoever you take will find something they appreciate.

I got my self a postcard of one of the pieces and popped it in a vintage frame, i love it!

Can you spot it on my shelf?

Leave a comment